The Archaeology Awards

The awards celebrate the projects and publications that made the pages of the magazine over the past 12 months, and the people judged to have made outstanding contributions to archaeology. These awards are voted for entirely by the public – there are no panels of judges.

The winners of the 14th annual Current Archaeology Awards were announced by Julian Richards on 25 February on our YouTube channel – scroll down to watch the video and see who won!

For more information on all of the nominees in each category, click on the links below:

Archaeologist of the Year 2022
Book of the Year 2022
Research Project of the Year 2022
Rescue Project of the Year 2022

The winners were announced on 25 February 2022 as part of our virtual Current Archaeology Live! 2022 conference. You can watch the awards announcement video below, and make sure you visit our YouTube channel where many of the conference weekend talks are still available to watch for free.

The winners of the 2022 Current Archaeology Awards are:

Archaeologist of the Year:
Raksha Dave

Research Project of the Year:
Bridge over troubled water: Roman finds from the Tees at Piercebridge and beyond
(Hella Eckardt and Philippa Walton, University of Reading/Birkbeck, University of London)

Rescue Project of the Year:
Building a Roman Villa: a Romano-Celtic temple-mausoleum and evidence of industry at Priors Hall, Corby
(Oxford Archaeology)

Book of the Year:
Bog Bodies: face-to-face with the past
By Melanie Giles